Prime Minister appoints COVID-19 National Committee

The Cabinet Office announces that Prime Minister the Most Hon. Dr. Hubert Minnis today appointed the National Coordination Committee on COVID-19 (NCCC) as part of the Government’s overall preparedness and response plan to the virus.

The Committee is co-chaired by Dr. Pearl McMillan, Chief Medical Officer and Mr. Matt Aubry, Executive Director, Organisation for Responsible Governance, and is made up of Government officials from the ministries of health, finance, tourism and education, and the Office of the Prime Minister (OPM); stakeholders and civil society members, and port and union representatives.

In addition to serving as a coordination and steering committee, the NCCC will also engage with the COVID-19 multi-governmental agency Task Force to implement decisions of The Bahamas Government, recommend policies to the Cabinet and provide sector and society impact analysis and feedback to Cabinet, as applicable.

Government committee members include: Mr. Marlon Johnson, Acting Financial Secretary; Mr. David Davis, Permanent Secretary, OPM; Mrs. Joy Jibrilu, Director General, Ministry of Tourism; and Mr. Marcellus Taylor, Director of Education.

From civil society and stakeholders, Mr. John Rolle, Governor, Central Bank of The Bahamas; Bishop Delton Fernander, President, Bahamas Christian Council; Mrs. Denise Lewis-Johnson, Chair, Bahamas Maritime Authority; Mr. Ed Fields, Director, Downtown Nassau Partnership; Mrs. Khrystle Rutherford-Ferguson, Chair, Bahamas Chamber of Commerce; Mr. Carlton Russell, President, Bahamas Hotel and Tourism Association; and Dr. Charles Diggiss, President, Doctors Hospital Health System. Mr. Bernard Evans, President, National Congress of Trade Unions represents labour stakeholders.

Port representatives include Mr. Mike Maura, Regional Director, Global Ports, and Chair, Arawak Port Development; Ms. Vernice Walkine, President and CEO, Nassau Airport Development (NAD); and Sherry Brooks, Director Government Relations, Grand Bahama Container Port.


11 March 2020

Cabinet Office

Commonwealth of The Bahamas